Interview with LGBT+

An interview with an asexual

The next interview is with an American lady who recognises herself as Asexual

First of all tell me about yourself?

Hi, I’m Samantha, or Sam for short. I’m a 20 year old college sophomore in Illinois! Now I am horrible at telling people about myself, but I love pie, penguins, and puppies.

 

Exactly how do you identify yourself sexually and otherwise?

I’m a hetero-romantic, demi-grey asexual.

Many people will not understand the term demi-gray, could you please explain?

Hey, so yeah demi-grey. So Demisexual is where you need a close bond with your boyfriend or girlfriend to experience sexual attraction towards them, however grey-asexual is where you are in the middle you can experience sexual attraction but you also don’t. For me I am both, I need that bond but I also can not achieve the sexual attraction.

Many of the readers won’t know the area you were born in so could you describe it, especially the attitudes towards sexuality that is different to their own?

Well here in America, we recently just made same-sex marriage legal. However, a lot of people do not understand asexuality and they believe it is celibacy when it’s not. But the U.S.A is indifferent about the LGBT+ community. 

 

Tell me about how you discovered you are asexual?

I discovered I was asexual October 2015, me and my friend were looking at the different types of asexualities when I came across demi-sexual and grey-sexual, I knew immediately that was me. 

 

Was it a confusing time when you discovered how you feel sexually?

It was a confusing time for me because I never really experienced the sexual attraction towards my boyfriends, and I was confused about why. I always said I was just celibate but now I know. 

How did you cope with it? 

I was really confused but then I joined Facebook groups and I coped well. I was really happy and I call myself an “asexual dragon”. 

 

Have you told any friends of family?

I have told my friends, not my family. 

 

How have they reacted?

My friends thought it was cool. My friend Jenny said “I knew it Sam! I kinda figured that you were asexual!”.

 

What are your thoughts on relationships, are you in one, or see yourself in one in the future?

I am scared to be in a relationship who is heterosexual due to the fact that I do not know how they will react once I tell my partner I am asexual. 

 

I overheard someone saying that it is unfair for an asexual to date someone who considers themselves as heterosexual or homosexual, how would you respond to that attitude?

We are either hetroromantic or homoromantic. If we want to date someone who is homo/heterosexual then who cares! I really don’t know how to answer that to be honest. 

 

Did you get any negative reactions?

I get a lot of negative reactions that I still cannot believe I received. I received it from a “friend” and I thought he was okay with it, but he wasn’t. 

 

Was there (and is there) much support for asexuals?

I don’t know, I mean, there are tons of groups but from what I’ve seen the LGBT+ Community is really not supportive too much, and I hope that changes soon.  

 

Do you think there could be more done to help people be aware about asexuality?

Yes there should be things done for the asexual community. Get the awareness out that we are here and we are freaking awesome!

 

Are you involved with any projects or groups at this moment in time, and what are you hoping to achieve from that?

My friend Jenny and I are trying to spread awareness about the LGBT+ Community and we are trying to get people involved, however, it’s really hard due to the fact that my campus can be homo/bi/trans/ace phobic. 

 

There also is a rumour that asexuals don’t have sex, and that is false; some do have sex, and they have families. We also are not plants, we do not reproduce by ourselves. So yeh 🙂 that’s me!!! ^_^ 

Leave a Reply

