​LGBTQIA+ mini profiles

Edward Goey

In this series we look at various heroes and advocates of the LGBTQIA family.

In this article we focus on Asexual, Edward Goey.

Edward Goey, an American writer, playwrite, illustrator and award winning costume designer. He designed covers for other authors, working in ink. 

He was without a doubt asexual.

Many people thought Goey as quintessential English, which couldn’t be further from the truth. He was born in Chicago in 1925.

In Alexandra Theroux’s book, The strange Case of Edward Goey, Alexander Theroux qoutes

… Neither one thing nor the other particularly. I am fortunate in that I am apparently reasonably undersexed or something … I’ve never said that I was gay and I’ve never said that I wasn’t … what I’m trying to say is that I am a person before I am anything else.



Edward believed that the sexlessness of his work was a product of his asexuality, he felt that this was a reason for their popularity with children. He confessed he had little interest in romance and children. 

His home was turned into a museum after his death in 2000 and his estate was divided between animal charities. 

There is a forthcoming documetary film due out in 2017.The film will follow the last five years of his life. 

A link to his books on Amazon 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Edward-Gorey/e/B000AQ6QKW


