Interview with LGBT+

Interview with Ivory Black. 

​Part two. 


Let’s talk about music! 



How and why did you get into music primarily? 

Music has always been part of my life. I remember going to my dad’s work to stay out of my mom’s “hair” and he had a few tape recorders that I used to record little ideas on for myself so I could listen to them when I got home. I wasn’t allowed many secular choices in music so I listened to a lot of old tapes my mother had lying around while also listening to my own music that I recorded at my dad’s work. That really pushed me to learn more about the craft of songwriting, layering sounds and finding harmony that ultimately created my own sound.

What is your greatest success so far? 

Personally, I think my greatest success so far is that I’m still out there trying my hardest doing what I love most, and that is sharing my music and the message presented in the lyrics with all those that relate. In music there’s enough “friendly competition” that sometimes likes to get out of hand and though it pushes you to be better, it’s easy to forget why you started in the first place. The past two years and since I have a manager now, visibility has increased due to TV and radio appearances, I released my first EP in 2015 “Ready Get Set”, played several big festivals etc, although the love of it is the main reason. It’s pure and people tend to get it more when you’re having fun. I find that It goes hand in hand and I can’t imagine myself doing anything else. It’s literally who I am. But it also becomes overwhelming at times.


Clearly there are very few non binary people within the music industry as much as in public life too. How important is this to change? 

The concept is fairly new. I think people are focused more on trans rights and the LGBTQIA movement that these ideas of “non-binary” just sound like a gimmick to sway the focus. I can assure you that it’s very real and to be honest, trans and gay people alike have inspired each other so much that others have been inspired to be who they are which is AMAZING! 

I think the lack of gender non-conforming people in music definitely needs to change. The more people out there that defy the idea of gender will spark more enlightenment of what it is to be human, and not just an idea of what a human is. So yes. Most definitely get more of us out there in the world. We need each other regardless of how we identify or present ourselves. Let’s inspire each other as much as possible. It’s working so far!

Does your self identity effect your music and how? 

Since discovering my inner identity I have freely adapted myself to expanding on my craft. I’m more into the idea of bending and shaping ideas I have now before accepting who I was and there’s also still that torment of what it is to be yourself in a world that still sees you for their preconceived notions of who you are. So that’s really hard but it comes out in my music VERY transparently, pun intended. 

I always ask at the end if there is a message you would like to put out there. 

Identity is a very fragile thing. Since children we have been conditioned to think and behave a certain way. But there comes a point when you can say STOP. This ISNT the way it is or even should be. There comes a point in your life where you can accept your own morals (harmless hopefully) and spread your ideas so that others can grow from them. Music is an amazing tool to do just that!!! Hopefully my music can speak louder than what I say. And my ACTIONS speak louder than my music, respectfully.

Here are a few social media links and ways to purchase Ivory Black’s music…. 

You can find me on the following Social Media Sites

My Site: http://www.ivoryblackmusic.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ivoryblackmusic

Twitter: @ivoryblackmusic

Instagram: @ivryblack

Purchase music: https://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/IvoryBlack2
Respectfully, 

IVØRY BLACK


Link to part one 

http://wp.me/p78BZ8-1dR

