Interview with LGBT+

Interview with Remington Miller an asexual. 

​Interviewer @pridematters1

Recently I got the opportunity to interview Remington. 

Could you tell me a little about yourself and how you identify yourself?


My name is Remington, and I was born in October 1993. I am from the southern part of the United States, and I am a senior in college, graduating in December 2017. I identify as a queer ‘grey-ace’.

Grey ace! Could you explain exactly what that means?


On a spectrum from non-asexuality to asexuality, I am somewhere in the middle. I am sexually attracted to people, but not very often. I can appreciate someone aesthetically, even attracted and could possibly want a romantic relationship, but it has to be the right moment for me to want to have sex with someone. I’m usually rather disinterested in sex.

Did you identify yourself, as there is very little information out there about asexuality?

I did, but mainly because I didn’t know much about the LGBTQIA+ Community. After a friend of mine told me that ‘grey-ace’ was a thing I did a Google search and found some resources that really made me feel like I wasn’t the only one that felt this way.


Have you told any of your friends and family and how did they react?

I have not told my family. A few friends know because they helped me figure it out. They didn’t really mind at all, and just accepted it.

Do you think there is such a thing as ‘Acephobia’?

I totally do! People tend to fear what they don’t understand. It’s “hard” to comprehend someone not wanting sex. Sex is made out to be something you have to do to be normal, which is completely wrong.


Some aces form relationships and adopt or have children. Is that something you would consider?

I definitely want a partner. I want to share my life with someone. Children though? That’s a maybe. Kids, for me, are so exhausting and time-consuming. 

Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?

I see myself in some kind of communications job, maybe a Social Media Director. I might be going back to school to get a degree in Business or Business Administration.


What message would you like to send out there for the people who are questioning their sexuality and feel that they may be asexual?

There is nothing wrong with you or the way you feel. There is nothing wrong at all! I know that it feels like you’re alone and that no one could ever understand. I’m here. There’s a community. Just reach out and we’ll help you.

 

This is an online forum I found where you can talk to others.

The Asexuality Visibility and Education Network:http://www.asexuality.org/en/

Follow Remington Miller on twitter at @remmingtom

