Gender & sexuality · Guest writer

Be yourself! 

By @amyann2100

Society can be very mean towards us! 

Many don’t understand us and have created myths.  While there is plenty of biphobia in the world,we shouldn’t have to worry about embracing our sexuality because we are amazing people, who just want to be ourselves. It can be hard because of the misconception that we are “going through a phase”, as well as many others. If you’re reading this, I imagine you want someone to say, “Embrace all of yourself and don’t give too huts about what’s said”. As much as I want to say that, I can`t.

Everyone should embrace everything about themselves, but it`s not possible to not care in the slightest what is said about you and your sexuality. Being bisexual is amazing. I love it and I wouldn’t change this part of myself for the world, but I do care what people say when I fully embrace this part of myself. If you’re like me and struggled to accept being bisexual at first then I imagine you know what I mean; it takes a lot to put it out there and you do feel vulnerable to begin with, but it does get better.

I took small steps in embracing my bisexuality: coming out to friends and family, talking about how I felt about being bisexual, watching YouTube videos by gaywrights (I felt so much better after watching Camille’s videos) and I recently started liking and retweeting lgbtqia+ pages and bisexual pride pages. I have followers that are homophobic, but not even one has said something negative on any of my retweets. It`s scary, I’m not going to lie but you’ll feel so much better. Not embracing your bisexuality is like being in the closet, because your hiding. You don’t need to hide. There are manysupport pages on the Internet. 

If you experience any biphobia that help you to deal with it and become thick skinned to it. You are you and no one can change that. I`ve heard people say, “You’re so brave for embracing being bisexual. You’re embracing yourself and it’s a wonderful thing”. It’s not brave, pure and simple, heterosexual people embrace themselves and so do gay men and women. It’s not a new concept to be yourself. I keep saying this, but it`s true, it is scary and it can take a lot not to go back and hide, but it`s worth it. It is so worth it to embrace being bisexual and we shouldn’t have to hide through fear of what will be said. 

Here are some reasons why you shouldn’t worry about embracing your bisexuality:

  • ·You get to be yourself, and no one should worry about being themselves.
  • ·Allies, we have so many allies, that will be so proud of you for embracing yourself
  • ·You know the myths/ misconceptions are false
  • ·Only your opinion of you matters

You will be happier and no one deserves to worry about happiness. If you embrace your bisexuality, well done,I`m so proud of you, I love you. If not,that’s fully acceptable, you will not be judged for it, I love you also. Negative things are temporary, you are forever.Whether you embrace being bisexual or not, it’s your decision, don’t let anyone make you feel bad if you don’t. If you don’t embrace being bisexual, but you want to and are scared, I promise you there is support for you and it will become easier in time. Baby steps help a lot. It’s okay to be scared. It`s totally valid and you are not alone, I`ve been there and I promise you, you can do this,if you want to. You shouldn’t have to worry about being yourself, because you are amazing and no one can take that away from you.

This is the view of the author and may or may not be the view of Pride matters or any other authors. 


Leave a Reply

